Days (Colors) and Seasons of the Church Year

God has provided a rhythm of seasons which orders life and influences the church's worship. God's work of redemption in Jesus Christ offers the Church a central pattern for ordering worship in relationship to significant occasions in the life of Jesus and of the people of God. The Church thus has come to observe the following days and seasons:

  1. Advent, a season to recollect the hope of the coming of Christ, and to look forward to the Lord's coming again;
  2. Christmas, a celebration of the birth of Christ;
  3. Epiphany, a day for commemorating God's self-manifestation to all people;
  4. Lent, a season of spiritual discipline and preparation, beginning with Ash Wednesday, anticipating the celebration of the death and resurrection of Christ;
  5. Holy Week, a time of remembrance and proclamation of the atoning suffering and death of Jesus Christ;
  6. Easter, the day of the Lord's resurrection and the season of rejoicing which commemorates his ministry until his Ascension, and continues through
  7. the Day of Pentecost, the celebration of the gift of the Holy Spirit to the Church.

The church also observes other days such as Baptism of the Lord, Transfiguration of the Lord, Trinity Sunday, All Saints Day, and Christ the King. Ordinary days are represented by the color Green. Advent, Lent and most of Holy Week are represented by the color Purple. Pentecost is and local special days such as the 2013 Sanctuary Re-dedication are represented by the color Red. Christmas, Easter, and all other named days are represented by the color White.

Subscribe to